Being in Control of my Day

Every morning since we recomitted, I wake up next to my husband and feel happy. I feel his hand graze my leg my body delights. Every morning I kiss his lips I am thankful that he’s laying next to me and we chose to fight this battle together.

But there are days that begin so wonderfully and as I drive to work my mind  begins to sink into a depression. Like today. I was so filled with happiness when we were together that morning but my mood began to change once I was alone in the car. I was about to text my husband to tell him: “I am having a rough time today. I’ll need extra support.” But then I stopped. I realized I was in control of my happiness or sadness. I choose to dwell on the facts I cannot change. So as I walked into my office I wondered if I could change my mood by focusing my attention on the moment I was in and the present. 

It’s amazing how much happier I became when I took control over my day. I didn’t think about her for the rest of the day. In fact, around 10 a.m. my husband sent me a sexy email telling me how much he enjoyed our evening together. I blushed and smiled… happy to have a distraction that made me smile. We exchanged emails throughout the day and when I left work I stopped by his office to surprise him. He was so happy to see me…. so happy to share a cup of coffee and take a much needed break from his work day. Why is this the first time I ever stopped by as a surprise in years? We work 20 minutes from each other and yet we acted like it was a world away… because we were a world away from each other on some level. Never again. During that visit to his office we decided to have lunch once a week together. We realized how much happier and better our day becomes when we are involved together. I have to remember this… always.

6 thoughts on “Being in Control of my Day

  1. Every BS who allows “mind pictures” & other negatives to CONSTANTLY steal their lives from them, should read this post!

  2. Wow, I have been following your posts for a couple of days and just started my own blog. I really needed to read this post. Especially when I’m having a really good day and then Bam I get to work and a trigger comes and the depression, heavy heart and water works start. It doesn’t help that she works down the hall from me. She use to work for my husband until he was fired. Seeing my past everyday sucks but I love my job, their aren’t a lot of IT positions in my area and I’ve been with the company for 12 yrs and she has only been there for a yr. she pursued my husband, like she’s done with others in the office. I’m not trying to be a hero, I believe I can survive this but not being able to get away from her isn’t an option right now. So thanks for this post.

    • Hi,
      Triggers are horrible. Eventually you can get through a day without one taking you down. But it takes time to get to that point. I can’t imagine having to work down the hall from my husband’s AP. I don’t know that I could do that. I’ll check out your blog. Thanks for reading!

  3. What does it say about me that I am peaceful and distracted from triggers when I am not in the presence of my significant other (I refuse to call him my husband). I like be work or anywhere I am without him. He is my trigger.

Leave a Reply

