Infidelity Trax/The A-Sides: Jason Mraz – I Won’t Give Up

Music is a crazy thing after you experience infidelity. It either empowers you are breaks your heart all over again. My A-Sides Trax are the ones that give you hope and empower you. The B-Sides are when you want to cry and feel the pain.

Like most people, I sit at my desk in my office listening to Pandora while I work. About a week after my d-day, I was working away when this Jason Mraz song started playing from my computer…. I clicked over to the tab with Pandora and started reading the lyrics, tears streaming down my face. I copied all the lyrics into an email and send them to my husband and he immediately responded with love. … It was the first time I gave him hope. It was the first time I told him I wasn’t going to give up. That was his fear… that he had done so much damage that I couldn’t see an “us” anymore. Some people would say that I made the decision to work on the marriage too early in my healing process but I disagree. I realized there was hope for us.

I’ll never forget when this song came on the radio in our car over the holidays and all my kids began singing the song. My husband and I holding hands tightly. He pulled my hand to his and kissed it gently as a tear fell from his eye.

Our wedding song had a special meaning for both of us but this someone has proven more powerful for both of us. Here are the lyrics:

When I look into your eyes
It’s like watching the night sky
Or a beautiful sunrise
Well, there’s so much they hold
And just like them old stars
I see that you’ve come so far
To be right where you are
How old is your soul?

Well, I won’t give up on us
Even if the skies get rough
I’m giving you all my love
I’m still looking up

And when you’re needing your space
To do some navigating
I’ll be here patiently waiting
To see what you find

‘Cause even the stars they burn
Some even fall to the earth
We’ve got a lot to learn
God knows we’re worth it
No, I won’t give up

I don’t wanna be someone who walks away so easily
I’m here to stay and make the difference that I can make
Our differences they do a lot to teach us how to use
The tools and gifts we got, yeah, we got a lot at stake
And in the end, you’re still my friend at least we did intend
For us to work we didn’t break, we didn’t burn
We had to learn how to bend without the world caving in
I had to learn what I’ve got, and what I’m not, and who I am

I won’t give up on us
Even if the skies get rough
I’m giving you all my love
I’m still looking up, still looking up.

Well, I won’t give up on us (no I’m not giving up)
God knows I’m tough enough (I am tough, I am loved)
We’ve got a lot to learn (we’re alive, we are loved)
God knows we’re worth it (and we’re worth it)

I won’t give up on us
Even if the skies get rough
I’m giving you all my love
I’m still looking up

4 thoughts on “Infidelity Trax/The A-Sides: Jason Mraz – I Won’t Give Up

  1. This song came out shortly after my dday…it spoke to me too. It is a beautiful theme song for those if us putting our marriages back together.

  2. I have not heard this song before but love the lyrics. Music has been an amazing thing for me in this process. I can here a song and think, yes I can do this, and the next be crying like a baby sometimes for gratefulness and others times for sadness. I completely have bonded with PINK through this process. but I have also really enjoyed 2 songs that I heard soon after D-Day that really touched my heart. One is Restore by Chris August and the other was Heal this Home by Luminate.

Leave a Reply

