Infidelity Trax // B-Sides // Christina Perri “Jar of Hearts”

I’ve been reading the blogs I follow today and I couldn’t finish the post I intended to write. I read stories of heart-break, broken dreams, pain and so many women finding an inner strength they never knew was within them. The pain can be paralyzing but you can release it and you will breathe again.

This song is for you.

No, I can’t take one more step towards you
‘Cause all that’s waiting is regret
Don’t you know I’m not your ghost anymore
You lost the love I loved the most

I learned to live half alive
And now you want me one more time

And who do you think you are?
Runnin’ ’round leaving scars
Collecting your jar of hearts
And tearing love apart
You’re gonna catch a cold
From the ice inside your soul
So don’t come back for me
Who do you think you are?

I hear you’re asking all around
If I am anywhere to be found
But I have grown too strong
To ever fall back in your arms

And I’ve learned to live half alive
And now you want me one more time

And who do you think you are?
Runnin’ ’round leaving scars
Collecting your jar of hearts
And tearing love apart
You’re gonna catch a cold
From the ice inside your soul
So don’t come back for me
Who do you think you are?

And it took so long just to feel alright
Remember how to put back the light in my eyes
I wish I had missed the first time that we kissed
‘Cause you broke all your promises
And now you’re back
You don’t get to get me back

And who do you think you are?
Runnin’ ’round leaving scars
Collecting your jar of hearts
And tearing love apart
You’re gonna catch a cold
From the ice inside your soul
So don’t come back for me
Don’t come back at all

And who do you think you are?
Runnin’ ’round leaving scars
Collecting your jar of hearts
Tearing love apart
You’re gonna catch a cold
From the ice inside your soul
Don’t come back for me
Don’t come back at all

Who do you think you are?

Who do you think you are?

Who do you think you are?

7 thoughts on “Infidelity Trax // B-Sides // Christina Perri “Jar of Hearts”

  1. I love this song… It’s so beautiful. It’s on one of my favorite i-pod playlist in my car.

    I’ll start a post or intend to write one and I’ll end up reading other blogs too. Feeling like I have to comment on everyone, that I can help someone ease their heartache. Honestly I don’t know what I would do without the blog at this point. I need it. I need the support everyone offers. So thank you for the support and the great song.

  2. Your story and mine are like mirror images. Minor differences, we have been together 24 years, and his affair only lasted 6 weeks and two sexual encounters. His guilt overwhelmed him, and he has to tell. Thanks for writing this.

      • Hi, we are doing okay, although d-day was only 9 weeks ago. Some days seem normal, some days I cry, scream and kick that in 2.5 months this crazy bitch tried to take down my 2.5 decade marriage. She brought hate, fear, and lothing in to my life where it didn’t exist. Thanks for writing this. I thought I was alone….all affairs are not created equal. We were in a happy long term marriage that was ended by a single sociopath. Uggh. Peace and light I hope for. My husband is truly remorseful and only wants healing. It is most difficult to think about this every hour or every day. Waiting for the day the thought of her does not enter my mind.

      • I agree with everything you just wrote… I can completely relate. I cannot understand the mindset of the Other Woman… I get if the man is unhappily married/miserable and checked out of his marriage. But why pursue a man that tells you he loves his wife and children? Why?
        My therapist asked me yesterday if I think about the affair every day. In my own mind I thought–how do I not think about it? I told her that I think about it daily and throughout my day. Not every thought is painful anymore and the emotional breakdowns are far a few between now…. But I haven’t reached a day yet where the thought of the affair doesn’t enter my mind. I know it will happen some day but just not today.

  3. Thank you so very much for posting this. I have always loved the tune and sung along to this song, even had it ringing in my ears before, but never actually LISTENED to what I was humming or siniging until I started reading the words you’ve posted here and then I watched the video. I found out this year, our 20th year of marriage that my husband has had multiple affairs. He wasn’t in love with any of them, but some of them did fall in love with him. This song has such great meaning now, unfortunately. Thank you

Leave a Reply

