What does it take to remove the pain after infidelity? I’ve noticed that although I am taking steps forward and I am happier, I still find myself hurt and emotional about things that shouldn’t bother me. ImageThe morning I found out about my husband’s affair I had to go to the grocery store to buy oranges for my son’s soccer team. A few days after D-Day, I had to go grocery shopping. Now, every f-ing time I am pushing the darn cart through the grocery store my mood shifts and I feel like I am walking through a fog. I’ve tried shopping at different grocery stores but the result is always the same. Maybe it’s seeing all the housewives walking through the store, or the fear that his AP will be in the store shopping by some odd chance, or maybe it’s the horrible sappy music they play. Why is grocery shopping a trigger for sadness and feelings of being alone? I’ve been responsible for the grocery shopping for our family for over 14 years. We’ve shopped together through the years, I shopped with the children when they were younger. Heck, I still have memories of grocery shopping with my mom as a little girl. So why does one stupid song playing over the supermarket sound system strip my confidence and make me want to curl up in a ball and cry?

For a few months after my D-Day, everytime I drove to visit my husband at work, in the town where his affair occured, I fell apart. If I was with my husband I was fine but driving in the car alone crushed me. His affair occured once in his office and every other time at her home, which is about one mile from his business. Since D-Day I was sure to have sex with him in his office and we’ve even gotten into a routine of meeting up just after business hours to screw all over the office. I feel like I took back his office space and fulfilled some fantasies of ours while I was at it.

Three weeks ago, on my way to see him I drove by her house for the first time ever. I wasn’t sure how it would affect me but I decided to own what I was doing.Image I needed to see her house and where my husband had sex with her for a year. It was about 9 p.m. at night and pretty dark outside. I drove by once and saw that there were only a few lights on and it appeared she was upstairs in what I guessed was the bedroom she screwed my husband in. Her car was in the driveway so I knew she was home (which I found entertaining since she is single and it was a Friday night–obviously her life is full of excitement). I turned around at the end of her street and drove by again, this time slowing down and trying to see if I could see anything–then I surprised myself and honked my car horn a few times and drove off. I was laughing all the way to my husband’s office. I told him my childish antics and he laughed. He confirmed the light on was her bedroom and the conversation was easy and light. I am just enough of a stalker that I drove by again the next Friday night just before 9 p.m. This time I only went by once and I could see she was in her bedroom alone again. I honked my horn a few times hoping she would hear and wonder who was being so obnoxious again.

It may be stupid and immature but I am reclaiming the town my husband works in for myself. I need to regain my strength and power and not allow her to strip me of anything. ImageYesterday, my husband and I went to a conference together and I picked him up at his office so we could drive together. Afterwards, we went back to get his car and I couldn’t help but love the fact that he held me tight and kissed me passionately while we stood in a parking lot visible to the Main Street intersection in town. I truly hope that she saw us. Or even better, I hope someone she knows saw us and told her about us kissing. It’s all petty and sounds dumb if you aren’t the betrayed spouse. I need to own my life. I need to know that my husband will kiss me anywhere and anytime he feels like it. I want my husband to look around each corner of his business and picture us together intimately and passionately.

As much as I am reclaiming some aspects of my life there are still stupid things that haunt me. The darn grocery store is one of them that I need to overcome. I need to create a new memory to take the place of the negative one lurking in my brain.

9 thoughts on “

  1. Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your
    article seem to be running off the screen in Chrome.
    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue
    or something to do with internet browser compatibility
    but I figured I’d post to let you know. The design look
    great though! Hope you get the issue resolved soon. Cheers

  2. You are too funny! I to have had issues with being in places where I know the affair happened. One of these days I am going to get the guts to drive right up to her house and blare my horn. Perhaps I’ll even do it twice, like you did, so she doesn’t think it was just a random occurrence. And then I will laugh all the way home :). This is definitely going to happen. Thank you for the inspiration!

    My husband still works with his AP. Not closely, but they are in the same department and in the same building. It is torturous. I have avoided his office for 18 months now because of it. Although, the other day I realized, why on earth am I the one worried about running into her? SHE should be worried about running into ME and feeling like the dirty little slut that she is.

    The day before my husband ended his affair and I found out about everything, we went to lunch together. Unbeknownst to me, we hugged and kissed goodbye right outside her office window. I hope she saw it and absolutely LOATHED me. I need to overcome my fear of going to my husband’s office, because this needs to happen more. Like everyday. A kiss and hug goodbye right outside her office window. Perhaps then she will find a new job :).

    • Yes!! You need to visit your husband more often. Let her stew in her jealousy as she watches your husband kiss and dote on you.
      I had to laugh about the drive-by/honking horn thing. I still think about driving by and seeing if I can scare her if she sees my car driving towards her house. I don’t know what I would do but I find it fun to think about. I know she’s intimidated by me and that’s the way things should stay. 🙂

  3. Just wanted to let you know that drive by number one happened Saturday night about 10 pm. I drove right up to her curb and could see that her living room light was on, so she was home alone. I layed on my horn for a full 5 seconds before driving off. I smiled the whole way home and I’m smiling about it now just thinking about it. Today I went to lunch with my husband and picked him up right outside her office window. I feel like I am getting some of my power back. I can’t believe I let her dictate my behavior for so long!

  4. I’m only a few weeks out from D-Day, and I so badly want to take back the town and places that where the affair happened (in his office, in their cars on some random street, and at his sister’s house while she was at work). I just can’t imagine doing that. I want to, but right now, it’s too painful for me to even be in his office parking lot. Or drive by the intersection near where they’d park to have sex. I cried when his sister invited me over to her house for a marathon of our favorite TV show (she doesn’t know about any of this yet). How long did it take you to get to this point, where you were able to create your own memories in his office? I’m trying not to judge my healing based on other’s timelines, but some sort of idea would be great. Thank you.

    • In some ways I was able to take back the memories in his office but not completely. Almost every time I drive into the town where he works (where she lives) the affair invades my thoughts. It doesn’t make me cry because I am no longer vulnerable to her or the affair. But it’s just there in my head. When I am walking through the parking lot of his work I wonder if she’ll drive by and see me. His office is located at a major intersection in the town and her children attend the school across the street. Sometimes I wonder if I’ll see her driving by and how I’ll react. In two years this has never happened.
      Take back what you can. In the beginning it helped me to have sex at his office or be visible in his work life. Now I no longer feel that pull and I’m not sure if it’s time, trust or healing. I hope you can find something that works for you.

Leave a Reply

