Mother’s Day Wishes | Infidelity Trax | Britt Nicole | The Sun is Rising

It’s so easy to focus on what is lost, what is missing, and the hurt. When I woke up this morning, on Mother’s Day, I was alone. My husband was snoring away and my children were still asleep in bed. The dog needed to go out so I threw on some yoga pants and took him out for a walk. I was awake now so when I came back inside I made coffee and sat down with a pile of magazines and my phone. I figured if I was going to have some quiet time to myself I might as well catch up on all the magazines collecting dust on my coffee table. As I thumbed through Real Simple I started to feel lonely. I wasn’t enjoying the solitude of having a moment to myself. Instead my mind was wandering away and I felt not just lonely, but alone.

I am not a fan of a quiet, slow, relaxing day. I like being on the go. I like being surrounded by chaos and the constant chatter of my children. I like that my kids enjoy spending time with me and together. So I turned on the TV and started to make noise to wake up the household and pull myself out of my funk. Mother’s Day is no time to feel alone or sad. We should be excited, happy, and looking forward to whatever the day has in store.

I want to restore genuine sense of happiness within me. I don’t want to be reaching for moments or sinking into a funk of self-pity. I want to appreciate my life and, moreover, myself. I read an article the other day about traits that “happy” people have in common. It was one of those articles shared on Facebook that I usually scroll right past in my feed but this time I stopped and clicked on it. I think the list is a good one and here is a snapshot of the nine traits of happy people.

  1. Love Themselves For Who They Are
  2. See Relationships As An Extension To, Rather Than The Basis Of The Human Experience
  3. Embrace Change
  4. Celebrate Rather Than Compare Themselves To The Accomplishments Of Others
  5. Never Dwell In Being A Victim
  6. They Live In The Present
  7. Trust That Everything Happens For A Reason
  8. They Don’t Let Money Dictate Their Lives
  9. Look Within For Solutions

I wish you all a wonderful Mother’s Day and wish you happiness. Genuine happiness in the face of whatever you are facing today.

5 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Wishes | Infidelity Trax | Britt Nicole | The Sun is Rising

  1. What I am facing today is that my hell started exactly 2 years ago when I found out that my husband had been cheating with a mutual friend. I have good days and bad days but the pain and disgust over the entire situation has never gone away. In not sure it ever will.

  2. I cannot enjoy today. Last year he preferred another woman, another mother, over me. Maybe next year won’t be so painful. I just want to hibernate until the pain is gone.

Leave a Reply

